Yes Sir! Dessert Sir!

My last two days weren’t exactly the best. Great issues at work. My school principal told me I am merely a soldier, so if he orders me to do something I should just say “Yes sir. I obey Sir (in Italian: Obbedisco!)”. No need to say, this is not the spirit I am working and teaching with. So sorry everyone, if I keep on believing in the importance of teaching the critical sense and sensibility. Our kids and students should be aware of what and where they are drinking from. Something poisonous could be in that nice glass in front of them. Critical sensibility strengthens. Critical sensibility makes us and them free. That doesn’t mean we should always be against everything and everyone though.

Be yourself, think with your brain, develop your opinions on your own! That is what I strongly believe in. Maybe that will add some unexpected difficulties to the journey of your life, but at least you will dream with a clear conscience. Even if, honestly, it could be really difficult then to held on your values. Especially when, and if, you are on your own. Especially when you act against the consenting crowtiramisuWORKINPROGRESSd. But maybe you will find someone else out there, who will respect you and your points of view, and won’t dictate orders that you don’t consider honest and that undermine your person and your professionality.

As my conscience was “working” on these two difficult days, this afternoon I thought that nothing better than making a great tiramisu would cheer me up. So: no more issues; just breaking the eggs, stirring them with sugar, mixing the cream with mascarpone cheese and creating pure – genuine – food delicacy for my guests tomorrow night (yes, because if you want to make a great tiramisu, you should make it the day before not the very same day). Believe me! 

© Dom

~~~

Photo: work in progress of my tiramisù by my son Pietro

Inspired by WP Daily Post’s one-word prompt: guest

and journey

5 thoughts on “Yes Sir! Dessert Sir!

Comments are closed.