Nostalgia. If Winter Comes…

img-20160822-wa0022

I love Christmas time. Anyway…

If Winter comes, can Spring and mild Summer be far behind?

 

Dom

 

Photo credit: taken this last end of Summer on the Venetian riviera

Freely Inspired by P. B. Shelley

 

43If I were a dead leaf thou mightest bear;
44If I were a swift cloud to fly with thee;
45A wave to pant beneath thy power, and share
46The impulse of thy strength, only less free
47Than thou, O uncontrollable! If even
48I were as in my boyhood, and could be
49The comrade of thy wanderings over Heaven,
50As then, when to outstrip thy skiey speed
51Scarce seem’d a vision; I would ne’er have striven
52As thus with thee in prayer in my sore need.
53Oh, lift me as a wave, a leaf, a cloud!
54I fall upon the thorns of life! I bleed!
55A heavy weight of hours has chain’d and bow’d
56One too like thee: tameless, and swift, and proud.
V

57Make me thy lyre, even as the forest is:

58What if my leaves are falling like its own!
59The tumult of thy mighty harmonies
60Will take from both a deep, autumnal tone,
61Sweet though in sadness. Be thou, Spirit fierce,
62My spirit! Be thou me, impetuous one!
63Drive my dead thoughts over the universe
64Like wither’d leaves to quicken a new birth!
65And, by the incantation of this verse,
66Scatter, as from an unextinguish’d hearth
67Ashes and sparks, my words among mankind!
68Be through my lips to unawaken’d earth
69The trumpet of a prophecy! O Wind,
70If Winter comes, can Spring be far behind?

 

 

 

your point of view on the topic

