Mrs. D., sorry. Queen? Who are they?

queen_queen-forever

Short consideration.

Yesterday at school it happened my students asked me who Queen are. I was quite astonished and speechless in the first moment. Then, after 30 seconds of silence from my part, I considered it was useless to reply with a “what?! How Can’t you know It? “. Instead I thought it would be a great opportunity to teach them some music and culture coming from the anglo-saxon world. So today, I presented a lesson about Queen and chose a specific song: “Somebody to love”.

I was quite afraid at the beginning, because songs are overrated in the English as a Foreign Language teaching. At first you believe it is a wonderful opportunity to arise interest in a foreign language through music, but then you realise that despite a good song, young people usually like the sound, beat or rithmn and they don’t care about the lyrics unfortunately. At the end of the lesson the result is often that  they hate a song they used to love.

However,  this time my students were quite interested in the lesson, and they loved the song and the lyrics, which are touching and have a great meaning.

Well, at least, now, they will never say that they don’t know who Freddie Mercury or Queen are. One of my aims was achieved.  😊

Dom

 

@@@@@

Lesson plan credit: Somebody to love worksheets are available here

5 thoughts on “Mrs. D., sorry. Queen? Who are they?

  1. I am such a huge fan of Queen and Freddie Mercury and it saddens me that the majority of people these days aren’t aware of their music. I’m really glad you took the time to teach your students about Queen and Freddie Mercury! You made the world a better place 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so so much. I believe I have a mission and it is not only teaching English as a Foreign Language, but also a wider more important aim, that of knowledge and culture. Which are not necessarily boring 😊

      Liked by 2 people

      • Yes I absolutely agree! Some of my best memories in high school were when our teachers taught us stuff that wasn’t necessarily part of our syllabus. It’s important to learn about all aspects of things not just the subject.

        Liked by 1 person

your point of view on the topic

